Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Brian

I am a graduate from the California State University of Long Beach with a bachelors in Criminal Justice. For most of my life, I have attended academies for tutoring in order to help me prosper academically throughout my school years. Over the years, I took on multiple tutoring jobs myself in order to pass on the knowledge that I have been previously taught from my mentors onto others. Personally, I enjoy teaching mathematics ranging from basic elementary math up to Algebra 1. It is a subject that I found to be most exciting and interesting during my time in school. I have always found that teaching students has always been a passion of mine. It gives me great pleasure to see the understanding light up in their eyes the moment they understand the process to how they found the solution to a problem. In my spare time, I love being active by hiking around local mountains and playing basketball and talking sports. I believe that the students are the future generation. With that being said, it is imperative that students are educated thoroughly all the while enjoying the process of learning. Please do not shy away to ask me any questions regarding anything that you are curious about. I look forward to working with you all!

Undergraduate Degree:

 California State University of Long Beach - Bachelors, Criminal Justice

Playing basketball, reading books, and traveling

1st Grade Math

1st Grade Reading

1st Grade Writing

2nd Grade

2nd Grade Math

2nd Grade Reading

2nd Grade Writing

3rd Grade

3rd Grade Math

3rd Grade Reading

3rd Grade Science

3rd Grade Writing

4th Grade

4th Grade Math

4th Grade Reading

4th Grade Science

4th Grade Writing

5th Grade

5th Grade Math

5th Grade Reading

5th Grade Science

5th Grade Writing

6th Grade

6th Grade Math

6th Grade Reading

6th Grade Science

6th Grade Writing

Elementary School

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

Korean

What is your teaching philosophy?

To educate the youth in a fun method and promote a better future.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In a typical first session with a student, I would generally start off with some icebreakers. The reason for this is in order for the student to feel most comfortable with myself. I do not wish for my students to feel nervous or shy to ask me any questions, but instead to feel comfortable and enjoy the environment to learn! Just as I was taught growing up, there are no silly questions! Feel free to ask me anything that you are curious about.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

In order for a student to become an independent learner, I find that the best method is to let the students solve for the answer independently. Of course, I will be there every step of the way guiding them throughout the process, but it is imperative that students develop the skills to act independently and not to rely on their teachers/tutors for the answers every time.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

In order to help a student stay motivated, I would like to set goals for my students to reach. Once they reach their goal, I would reward them with a special reward or treat.