Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Carolyn

I am a graduate of The Ohio State University and received my Bachelor of Arts in Korean. After graduation, I was blessed with various opportunities and experiences that have enriched the quality of my life. I interned for 3 months under the professional golfer in Dallas, TX. I worked with their non-profit organization that provides aid to young and aspiring golfers and traveled to Tampa, Florida and Seoul, South Korea. After the internship ended, I returned to Columbus, Ohio and had a number of odd jobs before starting full-time at The Ohio State University. At The Ohio State University, I worked at the Office of Legal Affairs as a legal secretary/front-desk receptionist for 2 years before realizing my passion for helping children. So I decided to quit my desk job and am currently enrolled at OSU studying child psychology.

I am approved to tutor Elementary and Middle school level Math, Reading, English, Study skills and Organization, ESL/ELL, ISEE-Lower Level, SSAT-Elementary Level, Korean language and Korean culture. While I tutor a broad range of subjects, my favorite subject is Korean language and culture. I love sharing and spreading my heritage with others and enjoy learning about other cultures as well. My #1 policy for tutoring is patience. I believe every person deserves a second chance (and maybe even a third, fourth and fifth!) and will strive to always be patient and encouraging when working with students. As far as teaching style, I will do an assessment of new clients and will apply Bloom’s taxonomy in every project. I start off by making sure the student remembers and understands the basic knowledge of a concept, then I will help the student apply and analyze their knowledge for a deeper and enriching learning experience. After a few sessions, I’ll re-evaluate the student's needs and make any necessary modifications in order to help the student attain their goal(s).

Another large part of my life is devoted to volunteering at church. I was the Treasurer and Vice President of the Young Adults/College group for the year of 2013. I am currently the Praise Team leader for Friday worship service and enjoy singing and playing piano. Every summer, I volunteer as a counselor for Ohio Youth Camp and last summer, I traveled to Jamaica for 10 days on a short-term mission trip. Also in my spare time, I enjoy reading, journaling, listening to music, running, and watching comedies.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Ohio State University-Main Campus - Bachelors, Korean

Studying at coffee shops, Reading, Playing piano, Singing along to the radio, Listening to indie music, Volunteering at church

Elementary School Math

Korean

Other

Piano

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization