Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Jenna

I am currently pursuing my Bachelor’s of Arts in both Economics and Political Science with a minor in Spanish at the University of Georgia, where I am a member of the Honors College. At UGA, I also earned certificates in Music Business and Global Studies. I have worked with a range of students on many subjects, emphasizing the empowerment and confidence that learning brings and encouraging students to understand material in a way applicable to their own lives. My experience helps me tailor tutoring to my students’ needs. While I am available to tutor for a variety of subjects, I am particularly interested in Economics, Government, Math, History, and Language, as well as Test Prep. In my free time, I enjoy traveling, reading memoirs, and DJing at my college radio station.

Undergraduate Degree:

 University of Georgia - Bachelors, Economics and Political Science

SAT Composite: 2250

SAT Math: 700

SAT Verbal: 770

SAT Writing: 780

SAT Subject Test in Mathematics Level 1: 710

SAT Subject Test in U.S. History: 770

Music, keyboard, reading, cooking, hiking

10th Grade Math

10th Grade Reading

10th Grade Writing

11th Grade Reading

11th Grade Writing

12th Grade Reading

12th Grade Writing

7th Grade Reading

7th Grade Writing

8th Grade Math

8th Grade Reading

8th Grade Writing

9th Grade Math

9th Grade Reading

9th Grade Writing

Adult Literacy

American Literature

AP US Government

AP US History

Business

Civics

College Business

College Economics

College English

College Geography

College Level American Literature

High School Business

High School Economics

High School English

High School Geography

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

HSPT Language Skills Prep

HSPT Math Prep

HSPT Quantitative Prep

HSPT Reading Prep

HSPT Verbal Prep

Macroeconomics

Middle School Reading

Middle School Writing

Other

Political Science

Quantitative Reasoning

SAT Subject Tests Prep

Summer

US History

Vocabulary

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

I would present the information in manageable steps, isolating each step until the student understands and continue building on to his or her growing foundational knowledge.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In the first session I will typically get a better understanding of the student's strengths and weaknesses, learning style, and his or her goals. After gauging the student, I will be better able to tailor future sessions to his or her needs.

How would you help a student get excited/engaged with a subject that they are struggling in?

I would encourage students to improve their personal bests, connect abstract concepts to concrete situations they can relate to, and fine-tune any challenges to their skill levels.

What techniques would you use to be sure that a student understands the material?

I will ask the student to explain concepts to me to check their understanding, as well as challenge them with problems or questions and have them walk me through their thought process.