Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Tamarah

I have been in the field of education for more than 30 years. I received my education from the University of Southern California(USC), where I received a Bachelor's Degree in Education, and California State University, Northridge(CSUN), where I received a Master's Degree in Special Education. I have a clear, California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential and a clear, California Specialist Teaching Credential with an emphasis on Communication Handicapped. That credential authorizes me to work with children with special needs in the areas of Language, Speech, and Hearing.

Throughout my teaching career I have tutored many students. I have been the coordinator of after school tutoring programs at the school site, where I was responsible for hiring tutors and matching them up with students, keeping records of progress, administering assessments and providing curriculum. My tutoring experience has been mostly with elementary students, K-5. The subjects I tutor are English/Language Arts,Elementary Math, and Writing. I have experience with Common Core Standards. I most recently completed development of an ELA and Writing curriculum for a tutoring company. I also trained teachers on the use of that curriculum and taught it myself.

I like to teach ELA and Writing because I believe they are the foundations for learning. If you cannot read or comprehend, you are lost as to what to do. You need language skills to convey your wants and needs and be able to understand the world around you. There is reading of some sort in every aspect of your life.

I like to get to know the students I am working with and build some kind of positive rapport with them. They aren't going to respond if I just jump right in and start hammering them with work. I am very encouraging and believe in using different strategies to reach all students since every student is different. All students can learn: you just have to find the avenue that fits their learning style so they can succeed.

When I am not tutoring, I like to read, crochet, and do arts and crafts. I am a very creative person, very visual and hand-on, which carries over into my teaching, so I like to try new crafts and build or make things.

Undergraduate Degree:

 University of Southern California - Bachelors, Education

Graduate Degree:

 California State University, Northridge - Masters, Special Education

reading, travel, crocheting, arts and crafts

College English

Elementary School Math

High School English

Homework Support

Other

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer

What is your teaching philosophy?

All students can learn when given the right tools and use of different strategies to foster self-esteem and motivation.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I would get to know the student: likes/dislikes; hobbies, etc. You cannot tutor someone without a connection.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

By giving them the tools they need to access learning THEIR way.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

Praise and incentives.

How do you build a student's confidence in a subject?

Small successes lead to big confidence.

How do you evaluate a student's needs?

Informal assessments and conversation; also take a look at what evaluations have already been done.

How do you adapt your tutoring to the student's needs?

I look for the strategies that will best help each student.

What types of materials do you typically use during a tutoring session?

It depends on the needs of the student; I may use some manipulative and hands-on materials if necessary to help the students learn.

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

Use different strategies until we find one that will best help the child.

How do you help students who are struggling with reading comprehension?

Taking small portions of the story or passage and focusing on understanding those to lead up to understanding the entire passage.

What strategies have you found to be most successful when you start to work with a student?

Getting to know them and finding out what their frustrations are; also sharing personal learning experiences with them eases tension.

How would you help a student get excited/engaged with a subject that they are struggling in?

Find fun ways to present it.

What techniques would you use to be sure that a student understands the material?

Ask them questions about the material and test them on the material.