Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt


After graduating from Biola University with a degree in Anthropology/Intercultural Studies, I moved to Mexico to begin my formal Spanish language study. Initially I lived with a Mexican family for five years. After my time with them, I lived another five years on my own, during which I studied at La Escuela de la Lengua Española, A.C., in Guadalajara. The experiences I had during this more than 10-year personal journey of total immersion language learning are woven into the fabric of how I teach my students. I especially enjoy working with students who have forgotten the language, were not taught well, or simply never were taught basic English grammar.

Upon returning from Mexico in 1993, I began teaching all levels of Spanish and to all ages, from 9 year olds to senior citizens groups. I have taught as an adjunct professor at Ivy Tech in Indianapolis and continue as an adjunct professor at IUPUI. My experience working with younger students began when I served as Dean of Students at The Oaks Academy in 2000. Teaching Spanish to young students have taken place in a variety of environments, including private schools, home school groups and bilingual tutoring sessions for middle and high school students in IPS. By listening, observing and talking with my students, I am able to find the holes in their knowledge and discover what might be challenging concepts for them.

One of my personal goals is to help students learn their new language in a similar fashion as they learned their native language. They not only learn to speak the language, but they also learn “how to learn” the language, which I believe is a valuable skill they will carry with them well beyond the classroom setting.

Although I make sure my students have an enjoyable learning experience, they also are expected to work hard and take their language acquisition seriously. I emphasize my desire to work with students who are serious about learning to speak Spanish well—because I know they can.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Biola Universiry - Bachelors, International Studies

I enjoy cross-cultural exchanges, vintage automotive mechanics, most motor sports, water gardening, reading biographies and auto-biographies, bicycling, observing wildlife, visits with friends . . .

Conversational Spanish

Spanish 1