Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Omar

Tutoring has always been a passion of mine; there is something so satisfying about watching a student's eyes light up after understanding a subject that so many others could not help with. I'm currently in my final semester at the University of Houston, completing a B.S. in Geology with a minor in Geophysics. Being in the major I'm in, tutoring has always been a scarcity. This is where my experience shines; I've tutored multiple students within my major all throughout my college career. This is where I learned, I enjoy teaching.
I can teach any science, math, and English related subjects very well:
A) Chemistry up to Chemistry 2-College level
B) Math up to Calculus 3
C) English up to English Literature-2. I'm also quite proficient in helping with essay writing, including both research and non research essays.
My philosophy in teaching has always been to cater to the students personal needs. From finding out what specific learning style the student has, to repetition and a fun learning environment. The line between fun and work is a very thin one, and the hobbies I have support that. I enjoy playing the ukulele and piano, as well as competing in basketball and football. I hope you as a parent can put your faith in me to help your child improve their way of learning and understanding.

Undergraduate Degree:

 University of Houston - Bachelors, Geology

Music, Ukulele, Piano, Sports, Basketball, Football

College Biology

General Biology

High School Biology

High School Chemistry

Homework Support

Middle School Science

Other

Summer

What is your teaching philosophy?

Everyone has their own style of learning; you've just got to hit that sweet spot. After that, repetition and hands on practice is key.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

Break down the way I would teach them, and begin covering the material, one by one, letting them ask questions to connect and get a bigger picture of the subject.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

Teach them a method of learning, and have them use the same method by themselves.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

Make what they are learning fun, instead of boring and stretched out.

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

Help them understand the skill or concept from different angles. Then have them work at it step by step; every small step still moves forward.

How do you help students who are struggling with reading comprehension?

Help them spell out the words; start from the basics of sounds and vowels and work our way up.

What strategies have you found to be most successful when you start to work with a student?

Making it interactive, watching them go through a problem step by step, asking if and why they think what they did was wrong, and then helping them fix it. Then, lots of repetition.

How would you help a student get excited/engaged with a subject that they are struggling in?

Find characteristics/specifics about the subject that particularly interest the student, and work from there.

What techniques would you use to be sure that a student understands the material?

Connecting different areas of the subject, repetition, and interactivity.

How do you build a student's confidence in a subject?

Give them praise for when they answer something correctly using the right method.

How do you evaluate a student's needs?

Ask them questions, or perhaps a cumulative test on the subject to see where they stand.

How do you adapt your tutoring to the student's needs?

Adapt speed, time, and use of materials depending on the student's learning style (auditory, visual, concrete, abstract, etc.).

What types of materials do you typically use during a tutoring session?

Whiteboard, markers, laptop, pen, pencil, and paper.