Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Jennifer

Schooling and education has become my highest priority in life within the past few years. I am a graduate of SUNY Erie Community College with a Degree in Social Sciences and Humanities and plan to continue my education with focus in Forensic Anthropology and Social Work (Dual).

I have extensive background in a multitude of fields and I have also taken a number of classes in the exploration and journey of finding my calling. I believe everyone has the potential to succeed, and that is why I am choosing to spend some of my time helping other students of any age to do so. We all have our vices; subjects that are more difficult than others, but we all have the ability to triumph if we’re willing to put the work in, and I will make it my mission to help students succeed.

While completing my Associate’s Degree, I was a Dean's List student. I graduated May 2016 with a dual Associates Degrees in Social Sciences as well as Humanities. My ultimate goal is to transfer to University of South Alabama for my Master's studies in Forensic Anthropology, and I also plan to obtain my LCSW.

I've worked in the pharmaceuticals field for the past six years and am very well versed in basic pharmacology, pharmacy law, and dosing mathematics. I am a Certified Pharmacy Technician and have also sat on the National HealthCareer Association Board which is APhA endorsed, as a Subject Matter Expert. That means that I had a hand in writing and reviewing the most recent Certified Pharmacy Technician examination. It was a blast!

My favorite subjects are Social Sciences including Anthropology, History, Psychology, and Sociology; Biological Sciences; ELA Reading and Writing; and a variety of Humanities such as Art, Music, and Theater/Drama. My tutoring experience dates back to high school (circa 2005), and some tutoring in college. I have always tutored privately, student-to-student. I am comfortable with tutoring my favorite subjects. I am comfortable working with elementary through college students. Other hobbies and interests include: drawing and painting in my spare time, crafting wire/up-cycled jewelry, my favorite books are old fairy tales (Hans Christian Anderson and Grimm), I LOVE to relax and watch cartoons, playing video games (more keen on the classics!), sing karaoke (though not very well), and I have a pet Chinchilla named Chichi.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Erie Community College - Current Undergrad, Dual: Social Sciences/Human Services, Humanities

Video games; Art; Drawing, Painting, Sculpting, Wire-Work, Crafting; Reading; Travel; Comedy

10th Grade

10th Grade Reading

10th Grade Writing

11th Grade

11th Grade Reading

11th Grade Writing

12th Grade

12th Grade Reading

12th Grade Writing

1st Grade

1st Grade Math

1st Grade Reading

1st Grade Writing

2nd Grade

2nd Grade Math

2nd Grade Reading

2nd Grade Writing

3rd Grade

3rd Grade Reading

3rd Grade Science

3rd Grade Writing

4th Grade

4th Grade Reading

4th Grade Science

4th Grade Writing

5th Grade

5th Grade Reading

5th Grade Science

5th Grade Writing

6th Grade

6th Grade Reading

6th Grade Science

6th Grade Writing

7th Grade

7th Grade Reading

7th Grade Science

7th Grade Writing

8th Grade

8th Grade Reading

8th Grade Science

8th Grade Writing

9th Grade

9th Grade Reading

9th Grade Writing

Adult Literacy

College Biology

College English

College Level American History

College World History

Creative Writing

Drawing

Elementary School

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

Evolution

Fiction Writing

General Biology

Handwriting

High School

High School Chemistry

High School English

High School Level American History

High School World History

High School Writing

Middle School

Middle School Reading

Middle School Science

Middle School Writing

Other

Painting

Pharmacology

MCAT Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior

Shakespeare

Summer

World Civilization

What is your teaching philosophy?

We all have our best and worst subjects, but I firmly believe and know that if you WANT to learn, you WILL learn; and I am willing, through my acquired knowledge, to help anyone who wants to learn succeed.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In a typical first session I would like to get to know the student and their learning style. There are three primary styles: Auditory (you love to listen), Visual (you require picture-aid), and tactile-kinesthetic (you're hands-on). I am the latter two, so I understand that lecture could be a difficult tool. I would also assess problem areas that they would like to focus on and design a plan based on learning style.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

Once the student and I assess their learning style, it will be easy to teach them to become an independent learner using tips and tricks specific to the three primary learning styles. We will work on different methods of note taking and lecture-listening skills.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

Everyone is capable of accomplishing the work. I would motivate my students by stressing the fact that sometimes it takes harder work than usual - we all learn at our own pace, and as long as they're open to learning and willing to put in the work, they will succeed. I will commend you on a job well done, each time and make sure they're comfortable!

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

If a student is having difficulty grasping a skill or concept, there is always a way to break it down or approach the subject from another point of view - again, this goes back to the three styles of learning; example: a tactile-kinesthetic student will need a hand's on activity or game,

How do you help students who are struggling with reading comprehension?

When a student is struggling with reading comprehension, we have to first assess why: do they not understand the words? The writing style? The best way is to have the student read passages slowly, either to themselves or out-loud, identify whether they're not understanding specific words or not processing the author's writing style, and explain it in another way. I would help them to organize their thoughts in a way to re-read a difficult sentence or paragraph a couple of ways and, if possible, reorganize it into something they would understand using their own words.

How would you help a student get excited/engaged with a subject that they are struggling in?

I would encourage them that it IS possible to learn and succeed, start off a little slow, engage and ask questions, and be available to answer any questions they may have. I would praise them for their hard work and reassure them that they will pick it up. I will try to have fun activities available as learning tools.

What techniques would you use to be sure that a student understands the material?

This, again, is a case-by-case determination. I would base techniques on the student's learning style. If they're a visual learner, I would explain something through pictures, drawings, and diagrams; if they are tactile-kinesthetic, we'd work on filling in printed off diagrams together, working on puzzles, and using hands-on tools to engage and teach.

How do you build a student's confidence in a subject?

To build a student's confidence you have to first and foremost show them that you believe in them. Praise them for their hard work and improvements, and keep their chin-up with encouragement.

How do you evaluate a student's needs?

To evaluate a student's needs we would talk and discuss how they think they learn things the best. What are the areas of strength and weakness? Are you a proficient reader? Do you do better with pictures/diagrams? Or puzzles and hands-on activities? What is currently the most difficult subject? Once the above is assessed, I can evaluate and form an action plan.

How do you adapt your tutoring to the student's needs?

Lessons and teaching styles are differentiated on a case-by-case basis. We would openly discuss troublesome areas, and focus more on where the student believes they are having difficulties.

What types of materials do you typically use during a tutoring session?

This is also determined on a case-by-case basis, but I plan to print out, or draw up visual aids where needed; create puzzles and activities to engage and teach, or use something as simple as a notebook and pen to break down topics and write outlines.

What strategies have you found to be most successful when you start to work with a student?

Befriending. If you let them know firsthand that you're here to help, that you want to help, and there's no need to feel ashamed - they will open up. I've found that relating my own troubles in the past helps them to open up, and then conversation flows better. They're more apt to tell you their problems when they know they are in fact not alone.