Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Nikolas

I am a recent graduate of The Ohio State University, where I received a Bachelor's of Science in Exercise Science Education. At Ohio State, I also was a Defensive Back on the football team, and have tutored many of my teammates. We accomplished much as a team, and became 2014-2015 College Football National Champions. Furthermore, I was named an OSU Scholar Athlete four times, and selected to the Academic All-Big Ten team two times. I will be beginning medical school in August of 2016. Before that begins, I am working as a personal trainer/performance coach, in addition to tutoring.

While I can tutor a variety of subjects, I am most effective in teaching science courses. I also am able to help students with test prep, especially the MCAT. My goal as a tutor is to help students achieve their goals in the classroom through both content specific learning, in addition to study skills and time management. In my free time, I enjoy exercising and playing with my 3 month old golden doodle puppy.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Ohio State University-Main Campus - Bachelors, Exercise Science Education

MCAT: 510

Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems: 130

SAT Subject Test in Mathematics Level 1: 730

sports, exercise, the outdoors, dogs

Anatomy & Physiology

MCAT Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems

College Biology

College Physics

Elementary Algebra

General Chemistry

High School Biology

High School Chemistry

High School Physics

What is your teaching philosophy?

My teaching philosophy is to empower, as opposed to enabling, students to master the subjects that they desire.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In a first session, I get to know the student's unique skills, needs, personality, and past history with similar coursework. I think this is important in order to develop an efficient plan of action, and should be done prior to beginning any specific coursework.

What techniques would you use to be sure that a student understands the material?

I make sure that students have a depth of understanding by asking questions, and making sure that students understand material, instead of just memorizing facts.

How do you build a student's confidence in a subject?

To build confidence, I begin with easier material, before challenging the student to complete more difficult work.

How do you evaluate a student's needs?

This is done on an individual basis. To do this, I have conversations with the student, as well as evaluate the student's past history with similar coursework.