Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Victoria

I am Victoria.I am now studying at College of DuPage for accounting and finance.

I am good at math and my native language is Chinese. I have two-year university degree for economics in Shanghai, China. I took Calculus 1 last semester and I got A for every quiz and test. Amazingly, I got 119 out of 120 in the final.

I have two-years experience in tutoring. I totally understand how students feel when they meet with the homework difficulties and what they will experience when they try to learn a foreign language. Therefore, I am always ready to help students with great patience. I have tried various ways to explain problems to my students, so I am quite familiar with what students may be confused with.

I love tutoring students. It feels really good to help others through my help. Every time I see students make great progress after they make efforts, I feel proud of them. I am looking forward to help you.

Undergraduate Degree:

 College of DuPage - , Finance

I love watching movies and playing piano.

10th Grade Math

11th Grade Math

12th Grade Math

1st Grade

1st Grade Reading

2nd Grade

2nd Grade Reading

3rd Grade

3rd Grade Reading

4th Grade Math

5th Grade Math

6th Grade Math

7th Grade Math

8th Grade Math

9th Grade Math

ACCUPLACER Arithmetic Prep

ACCUPLACER College-Level Math Prep

ACCUPLACER Elementary Algebra Prep

ACCUPLACER ESL Prep

AP Chinese

AP Economics

Business

Business Calculus

CLEP Prep

CLEP College Algebra

CLEP College Mathematics

CLEP Precalculus

College Business

Conversational Mandarin

Elementary Algebra

Elementary School

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

High School Business

Homework Support

Intermediate Algebra

College Math

Mandarin Chinese 1

Mandarin Chinese 3

Mandarin Chinese 4

Other

SAT Subject Test in Chinese with Listening

SAT Subject Tests Prep

Summer

What is your teaching philosophy?

Firstly, I encourage students a lot to build up their confidence. Secondly, I will explain the question and guide them to find the solution to it.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

If it is a math course, I will ask if the students have any problems that I can help. If it is a Chinese course, I will start with basic words and sentences.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

Encouragement is always the best way. Sometimes students are confused with what they are dealing with and what they have learned. Encouraging them to find the connection and difference between them is a good way to guide them to the solution.

How do you help students who are struggling with reading comprehension?

Though reading takes a lot of time to practice, there are some skills to improve reading. I may find a reading article and explain how to get the point of it.

How would you help a student get excited/engaged with a subject that they are struggling in?

Whatever lessons they are taking, difficulties always exist. I will encourage them to never give up and explain the confusing point to them. Finally, I will company them to do more exercises.

How do you evaluate a student's needs?

I will check their homework and find what they usually are struggling with.

How do you adapt your tutoring to the student's needs?

I will guide them to solve their problems or questions first and then try to explain the connection with the problems and what they have learned.