Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Alice

I graduated from Georgetown University with a double major in Biology and Philosophy. I love science and interacting with people, which is why I"m currently applying to nursing school. I've worked professionally full-time as a tutor of academic subjects and test prep for a year here in the Bay Area. Previously I volunteered in other mentoring capacities: teaching science, providing HIV/AIDS prevention education, and helping adolescent girls gain confidence and skills through rock climbing.

I tutor a variety of subjects, though my favorites by far are biology, grammar, and critical reading! Grammar may seem annoying to many, but once you learn the rules it really is kind of fun, and with critical reading you often get to read interesting passages. Biology has always been what fascinates me most, and I used to work as a lab technician, so I never get tired of tutoring it. I was diagnosed with ADHD as a kid, and that informs my teaching style - giving me extra patience with kids who ask lots of questions, need things explained in a different (or a second) way, or simply need things repeated a few times because they zoned out!

In my free time I love to go adventuring, be it around the city, or out in the wilderness! I love dogs and can't wait till the day I can get my own. I enjoy playing games, and constantly strive not to take myself too seriously. I'm interested in outdoor skills as well as science fiction.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Georgetown University - BS, Biology and Philosophy

GRE Verbal: 169

adventuring, camping, hiking, climbing, camping, playing games, reading, crafting

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

To help the student grasp the concept, I would perhaps first try explaining it again in the same way. Sometimes someone just needs to hear things more than once for them to stick. If that did not solve the issue, I would try explaining it in a different way - perhaps coming at it from a different angle, and most likely, breaking the concept down into components, so that they can digest one bit at a time and then put it together for the larger concept.

How would you help a student get excited/engaged with a subject that they are struggling in?

I would try to find a way to personally connect that subject to the student, or make it relatable to them. There are many ways to do this, and it depends on the subject, but if you can relate it to music, sports, or activities that the student enjoys and cares about, they will be more invested in learning it.

What techniques would you use to be sure that a student understands the material?

Teach-backs are an excellent way to make sure a student really understands something. If they can show or teach me how to do it, they likely understood it.

How do you build a student's confidence in a subject?

If a student is struggling with confidence on a subject, you just need to start easy so that they can do well at first, and then incrementally increase difficulty so that things get a little more challenging, but not so much as to overwhelm or deject the student.