Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Kayla

I'm a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison (go Badgers!)I earned my Bachelor of Arts in Spanish Literature and English Language and Linguistics. Additionally, I earned certificates in both European Studies and TESOL. I studied abroad in Madrid, where I had the opportunity to tutor privately and work as a TA in the English Applied Linguistics Department at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid. While there, I discovered a passion for teaching. After graduation, I took a job at Antalya International University, where I worked as an English Instructor for two years. I tutor a number of subjects, but I am most excited about English, Literature, and Spanish. I love helping students who are frustrated by the reading and writing portions of tests approach them from a different angle and overcome their anxieties about the testing process. I firmly believe in tailored, communicative teaching, working with the interests and strengths of each student to help them improve as much as possible. In my spare time I love to read, play tennis, paint, and salsa dance.

Undergraduate Degree:

 University of Wisconsin Madison - BA, English Language & Linguistics, Spanish Literature (Minors in TESOL and European Studies)

ACT Composite: 30

ACT English: 34

ACT Reading: 30

ACT Science: 31

Tennis, Painting, Salsa dancing, Reading, Running, Traveling

College English

College Geography

College Level American History

Comparative Literature

Conversational Spanish

High School English

High School Geography

High School Level American History

Other

Spanish 1

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

What is your teaching philosophy?

I firmly believe in tailored, communicative teaching, working with the interests and strengths of each student to help them improve as much as possible.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

First, I like to get a good sense of who the student is, and what their needs are. I'll spend about 20 minutes asking about their interests, goals, and struggles. It helps me get a good picture of what the student needs--and how I can deliver motivating and interesting lessons most effectively.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

In a word: scaffolding. We start with exercises and activities that are very structured and guided, and gradually ease into tasks that require more independent thought, analysis, and work. Each activity builds into the next one, so that by the time a student reaches the point of independent learning, they have confidence in the solid foundation of the work they've already done.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

Motivation is unique to each individual student, so I like to tailor my approach based on personality, goals, and interests. My baseline strategy is to use materials of interest to the student; if I have a student learning reading strategies who loves basketball, we'll definitely be reading about basketball. That way, tasks a student might normally find unpleasant or boring are enlivened by interesting and engaging material.

How do you help students who are struggling with reading comprehension?

I'm careful to break down the reading process into manageable steps with students who struggle in this area. We look at pictures, subtitles, and titles before actually reading anything, and then make some predictions. Next comes skimming for main ideas, outlining, and finally, we read for detail. I find that segmenting a big task like this into smaller and more specific tasks give students more direction and room read a pace that might be more comfortable and better for comprehension.