Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt


I'm a graduate of two very different universities: The University of Iowa in Iowa City and Hawaii Pacific University in Honolulu. My Bachelor of Arts degrees are in Communication Studies and French Language and Literature, and my Master of Arts degree is in Teaching English as a Second Language. I've been an English as a Second Language instructor for many years. I've worked with bilingual children and families in a family library in Honolulu, I've taught adult immigrants of all language skill levels so they can improve their daily lives, and I've spent many years at the university level preparing students for university work. As for my own second language of French, I spent five months studying at a French University in Montpellier, and I worked as a bilingual customer service representative answering phones and writing emails for a trade show company. I enjoy teaching Reading, Math, and French, but am happy to help anyone who is trying to learn something new. My tutoring style is to figure out the student's learning style and personal interests and conform instruction to those aspects. Outside of the classroom, I enjoy yoga, meditation, self-defense, hiking, concerts, and any type of dance.

Undergraduate Degree:

 University of Iowa - B.A., Communications & French

Graduate Degree:

 Hawaii Pacific University - M.A., Teaching ESL

 State Certified Teacher
Yoga, Meditation, Self-Defense, Hiking, Concerts, Dancing

College English

Conversational French

Expository Writing

High School English


Persuasive Writing

Social Sciences

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

What is your teaching philosophy?

My teaching style has evolved over the years, but I do have some common themes that I believe are tried and true. The first of them is Howard Gardner.