Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt


I was born in San Antonio, but I grew up and went to school in the Klein district in Spring. I'm a Texas Aggie, class of '07 with a BA in English from Texas A&M and a California Aggie, class of '11 with an MA in Poetry from UC Davis. In addition to tutoring, I teach Composition & Rhetoric, Literature, and Creative Writing at Lone Star Community College. My specialties are writing and literature, but I spent three years as a Genetics and Biochemistry double major at A&M-- so I have strong math and science skills as well, and I excel at exam preparation.

My first tutoring experience came in my senior year of high school, when I worked with elementary students learning chess. It was exciting to witness an understanding of a complex game developed in young minds--it's really something, when students grasp a concept, when they suddenly get it and realize that they get it. You can see it on their faces. I try to pitch my instruction towards that moment, to find a way to make that moment of discovery a reward, so that the learning part can feel more like playing a game and less like dreary busy-work.

In my free time, I like to read and write, of course, watch movies, play basketball, and cook. I've traveled a little, but much less than I'd like. I also spend a fair amount of time trying to keep flowers and vegetables from drying out in this heat.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Texas A & M University-College Station - BA, English

Graduate Degree:

 Cal Davis - MA, Poetry

SAT Composite: 1530

SAT Math: 730

SAT Verbal: 800

GRE Quantitative: 770

GRE Verbal: 770

GRE: 1540

GRE Subject Test in Literature in English: 710

basketball, movies, poems, chess