Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Siavash

I am a graduate student at Cal State Northridge. I'm currently working on my M.S. in Molecular Biology working on cancer cells. I did my undergraduate at UCLA and was a Molecular Biology and Ecology major. I grew up in Southern California most of my life and went to a local high school in Woodland Hills, CA. I took AP courses such as AP calculus, government, biology and chemistry.

I have been tutoring in various subjects including all levels of math, chemistry and organic chemistry, biology and social sciences since I was in high school. I have tutored after school programs in middle school, high school and college level courses. I have over 10 years of experience in tutoring. I enjoy learning and teaching all subjects, but if I were to choose one subject it would be biology. I love teaching math too. With my patience and methods of teaching, I make sure the students learn very well at their comfort levels. I do tutor all levels of biology even upper division courses such as embryology, anatomy, physiology, immunology, histology and hematology in addition to all levels of math all the way to calculus. I teach inorganic and organic chemistry from high school to college as well, and I really enjoy teaching them. As a graduate student I get to teach lab courses such as anatomy, physiology, general biology, hematology and histology. All of these experiences have helped me build great patience to be a good teacher.

I have had students as young as five and up to age forty-five. I do accommodate students who have special needs by being extra patient and making sure I can help anyway I can. It is really fun for me to teach as it runs in my blood. Both my mother and father were teachers in various grade levels so I have been frequently exposed to grading papers and creating assignments and notes for students. Math and Science courses are just so fun to teach, and with my patient and diligence, I ensure students have attained the confidence to solve any problems they may face.

In addition to tutoring, I have three dogs that I enjoy walking and taking to dog parks. One hobby that I just started to pick up is cooking so I am hoping to learn how to cook various foods from all of the countries in the world. I enjoy listening to all kinds of music and watching comedy movies.

Undergraduate Degree:

 University of California-Los Angeles - B.S., Molecular Biology

Graduate Degree:

 Cal State Northridge - M.S., Molecular biology

Playing tennis, reading, working out at gym, yoga, hiking, running, coaching soccer to kids

College Biology

College Chemistry

High School Biology

High School Chemistry

What is your teaching philosophy?

My teaching philosophy is patience, and I would only be satisfied if my student has fully understand and can master the materials without my help. I would take the time to explain and re-test over and over to make sure the student has not just memorized but learned the materials.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I like to get to know my student to determine strengths and weaknesses, and to gain insight into how I can help the student by reading the student's facial and hand gestures.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

By providing quizzes and drills before the start of the next session, as well as testing the student randomly.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

By exploring the likes and dislikes, and relating the materials to what he or she likes. For example, I had a student who loved the Lakers, and when I tutored math I kept him motivated by including the Lakers and different players to get him more triggered to enjoy the experience and learn the materials.